Living in Sobriety Resources

Drug Testing

Alco-Screen www.chematics.com  800-348-5174

Drugs of Abuse Home Use Test (FDA) www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/ProductsandMedicalProcedures/ InVitroDiagnostics/HomeUseTests/ucm125722.htm

Drugs of Abuse Testing (Lab Tests Online) http://labtestsonline.org/understanding/analytes/drug-abuse/tab/test

Drug Testing (SAMHSA) http://www.samhsa.gov/workplace/resources/drug-testing

Frequently Asked Questions About Drug Testing in Schools www.drugabuse.gov/related-topics/drug-testing/faq-drug-testing-in-schools

State Laws on Drug Testing (NOLO Law for All) www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/free-books/employee-rights-book/chapter5-3.html  

Employment Issues

BusinessUSA http://business.usa.gov (business resources from several federal agencies)

CareerOneStop www.careeronestop.org (government help with job training and placement)

Institute for a Drug-Free Workplace www.drugfreeworkplace.org

National Drug-Free Workplace Alliance www.ndwa.org

National HIRE Network www.hirenetwork.org

SCORE www.score.org (small business mentors)

U.S. Small Business Association www.sba.gov  

Financial Issues

National Foundation for Credit Counseling www.nfcc.org

Medical and Dental Expenses (IRS) http://www.irs.gov/publications/p502/  

Legal Issues

Are You in Recovery From Alcohol or Drug Problems? Know Your Rights (SAMHSA) http://store.samhsa.gov/product/Are-You-in-Recovery-from-Alcohol-or-Drug-Problems-Know-Your-Rights/PHD1091

Are You in Recovery From Alcohol or Drug Problems? Know Your Rights – Rights for Individuals on Medication-Assisted Treatment (SAMHSA) http://store.samhsa.gov/product/Rights-for-Individuals-on-Medication-Assisted-Treatment/SMA09-4449 

National Drug Court Institute www.ndci.org

National Drug Court Resource Center www.ndcrc.org

National Association of Drug Court Professionals www.nadcp.org/nadcp-home

Tribal Healing to Wellness Courts (Tribal Law and Policy Institute) www.wellnesscourts.org

Justice for Vets www.justiceforvets.org

Low-cost Legal Services www.LawHelp.org

Legal Action Center www.lac.org  

Recovery Tools

Get Into Recovery http://www.getintorecovery.com/  

Sober Living

Homelessness Resource Center (SAMHSA) http://homeless.samhsa.gov

National Alliance for Recovery Residences www.Narronline.org

Oxford Houses www.oxfordhouse.org

SSI/SSDI Outreach, Access and Recovery (SAMHSA) www.prainc.com/SOAR  

Sober Networks, Sober News

12 Step Me www.12stepme.org

After Party Chat http://afterpartychat.com

Faces and Voices of Recovery http://www.facesandvoicesofrecovery.org (also lists many local advocacy groups) www.ManyFaces1Voice.org

The Fix http://www.thefix.com

Hazelden Betty Ford http://thedailypledge.org/

My Recovery http://www.myrecovery.com Sober Grid http://www.sobergridapp.com/ 

Sober Nation http://www.sobernation.com

Sober Recovery www.soberrecovery.com/forums

Tranforming Youth Recovery www.transformingyouthrecovery.org

Shatterproof www.Shatterproof.org

Phoenix Multisport www.phoenixmultisport.org

Young People in Recovery http://youngpeopleinrecovery.org  

Sober Days Counters

Sobriety Calculator www.aagrapevine.org/sobriety-calculator

Don't Break the Chain http://dontbreakthechain.com  

Medication Safety

DailyMed http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm

Drug Enforcement Agency National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drug_disposal/takeback

The Medicine Abuse Project  http://medicineabuseproject.org/  

Recovery Activism

Advocates for Recovery (CO) www.advocatesforrecovery.org

Alcoholics Anonymous www.AA.org (see Corrections, Getting Involved in General Service, etc.)

Association of Recovery Community Organizations (Faces and Voices of Recovery) http://www.facesandvoicesofrecovery.org/who/arco

Aware Awake Alive http://awareawakealive.org

Faces & Voices of Recovery www.facesandvoicesofrecovery.org

MADD www.madd.org

Many Faces 1 Voice http://manyfaces1voice.org

Medical Amnesty Initiative www.medicalamnesty.org

Narcotics Anonymous www.na.org (see How to start a meeting)

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependency www.ncadd.org

National Recovery Month (SAMHSA) www.recoverymonth.gov  

Recovery Schools

Association of Recovery Schools www.recoveryschools.org

Association of Recovery in Higher Education http://collegiaterecovery.org/programs

The Center for the Study of Addiction and Recovery (Texas Tech University; collegiate recovery program and a Replication Model for other schools) www.depts.ttu.edu/hs/csa

Transforming Youth Recovery www.transformingyouthrecovery.org  

Resources for Many Communities

12 Steps for Christians http://www.12stepsforchristians.com/

AA Agnostica http://aaagnostica.org

Association of Recovering Motorcyclists www.arm-intl.com

Anesthetists in Recovery (American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, AANA) AANA Peer Assistance www.aana.com/resources2/peer-assistance/Pages/default.aspx

Birds of a Feather International (pilots) www.boaf.org

Buddhist Recovery Network www.buddhistrecovery.org

Celebrate Recovery (Christian) www.celebraterecovery.com

Chabad (Jewish) www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/714274/jewish/Jewish-Recovery.htm

Christian Recovery International www.Christianrecovery.com

Clergy Recovery Network www.clergyrecovery.com

Fellowship of Recovering Lutheran Clergy http://frlc.org

Federation of State Physician Health Programs www.fsphp.org

Give an Hour (Free mental health help for troops and families affected by conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan) www.Giveanhour.org

Indian Alcohol and Substance Abuse www.samhsa.gov/TLOA

Indian Health Service, Find Health Care www.ihs.gov/forpatients/findhealthcare

International Doctors in AA Help Line www.idaa.org

International Lawyers in Alcoholics Anonymous www.ilaa.org/home J

ACS (Jewish Alcoholics, Chemically Dependent Persons, and Significant Others, a program of Jewish Board of Family and Children’s Services) https://jewishboard.org/listing/jewish-alcoholics-chemically-dependent-persons-and-significant-others-jacs

Millati Islami World Services www.millatiislami.org

National Asian Pacific American Families Against Substance Abuse www.napafasa.org

National Association for Christian Recovery www.nacr.org

National Association of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender Addiction Professionals and Their Allies www.nalgap.org

Pharmacists Recovery Network www.usaprn.org

Pride Institute http://pride-institute.com  (Chemical dependency/mental health referral and information hotline for LGBT.) 800-547-7433

Recovering Women Riders http://rwr.arm-intl.com

Seniors in Sobriety www.seniorsinsobriety.org

Sober Bikers United www.soberbikersunited.org

Substance and Alcohol Intervention Services for the Deaf http://www.rit.edu/ntid/saisd/

The Calix Society (Catholics) http://www.calixsociety.org

White Bison (Native American) www.whitebison.org

Wellbriety (Native American) www.wellbriety.com

Women For Sobriety www.womenforsobriety.org

Young People in Recovery http://youngpeopleinrecovery.org

VA Vet Centers www.vetcenter.va.gov 877-WAR-VETS

Veteran’s Administration http://va.gov 800-827-1000  

Related Issues

Chronic Pain Anonymous www.chronicpainanonymous.org

Debtors Anonymous www.debtorsanonymous.org

Emotions Anonymous http://emotionsanonymous.org

Gamblers Anonymous www.gamblersanonymous.org

Overeaters Anonymous www.oa.org

Sex Addicts Anonymous https://saa-recovery.org

Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous www.slaafws.org

Sexual Compulsives Anonymous www.sca-recovery.org

Survivors of Incest Anonymous www.siawso.org

Workaholics Anonymous http://workaholics-anonymous.org  

The Recovery Book