Health Resources

Be sure to also read How to Find Good Health Information Online - Part 1 for tips on safe surfing.  

Health Information

American Liver Foundation www.liverfoundation.org

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics www.eatright.org/Default.aspx

Choose My Plate (USDA) www.choosemyplate.gov

Cornell Research Program on Self-Injury and Recovery http://selfinjury.bctr.cornell.edu/about-self-injury.html

Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2015 (USDA) http://health.gov/dietaryguidelines/2015.asp

Family Doctor (American Academy of Family Physicians) http://familydoctor.org

Evaluating Health Information (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/evaluatinghealthinformation.html

Healthfinder.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) www.healthfinder.gov

Healthy Eating Plate, Harvard Health Publications www.health.harvard.edu/plate/healthy-eating-plate

Hepatitis C (Mayo Clinic.com) http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/hepatitis-c/home/ovc-20207365

Hepatitis C FAQs for the Public (Centers for Disease Control) www.cdc.gov/hepatitis/C/cFAQ.htm

Hepatitis Foundation International www.hepatitsfoundation.orgi.org/index.html

HIV and STD Testing Resources https://gettested.cdc.gov

HIV InSite (University of California, San Francisco) http://hivinsite.ucsf.edu/InSite

Lab Tests Online http://labtestsonline.org

MayoClinic.com www.mayoclinic.com/health-information

MedlinePlus www.medlineplus.gov  (including health information in many languages)

National AIDS Hotlines & Resources (The Body) www.thebody.com/index/hotlines/national.html

National Cancer Institute http://cancer.gov

National Eating Disorders Association www.nationaleatingdisorders.org

National Association of Anorexia Nervosa and Associated Disorders www.anad.org

Nemours Foundation KidsHealth

TeensHealth http://teenshealth.org/teen

KidsHealth http://kidshealth.org/kid

For Parents http://kidshealth.org/parent

Nutrition Facts Label: How to Understand and Use It (FDA) www.fda.gov/Food/IngredientsPackagingLabeling/LabelingNutrition/ucm274593.htm

Selected Preventive Screening Recommendations www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpao/hwi/resources/preventative_screening.htm

WebMD.com www.webmd.com

The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource www.thebody.com

U.S. Food and Drug Administration: For Consumers www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/default.htm

Womenshealth.gov (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) http://womenshealth.gov  

Find a Primary Care Doctor

American Board of Addiction Medicine www.abam.net/find-a-doctor

American Board of Family Medicine www.theabfm.org/diplomate/find.aspx

American Society of Addiction Medicine http://community.asam.org/search/default.asp?m=basic

Directories (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/directories.html (Directories of medical professionals)  

Directories of Health Providers and Resources, Including Some Free or Low-Cost Services

BenefitsCheckUp (National Council on Aging; where to find help for medication, health care, food, legal help, transportation, housing, utilities, etc.) https://www.benefitscheckup.org/

Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) www.insurekidsnow.gov/chip/index.html

Dental Lifeline Network (donated dental services) http://dentallifeline.org/about-us/our-programs/

Disabled American Veterans (help applying for benefits, filing claims, transportation, etc.) www.dav.org

EyeCare America (Foundation of the American Academy of Ophthalmology; free eye exams) www.eyecareamerica.org

Federally Qualified Health Centers
https://findahealthcenter.hrsa.gov/index.html

Financial Help for Diabetes Care (National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse; NIH) http://diabetes.niddk.nih.gov/dm/pubs/financialhelp

Find A Health Center (Health Resources and Services Administration; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) Directory of free and low-cost services. http://findahealthcenter.hrsa.gov/Search_HCC.aspx

Find Ryan White HIV/AIDS Medical Care Providers (Health Resources and Services Administration; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) Directory of free and low-cost services. http://findhivcare.hrsa.gov/Search_HAB.aspx

Give an Hour (Free mental health help for troops and families affected by conflicts in Iraq and Afghanistan) www.Giveanhour.org

Homelessness Resource Center (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration) http://homeless.samhsa.gov/Resource/LocalResources.aspx

Indian Health Service: Find Health Care www.ihs.gov/forpatients/findhealthcare

Men’s Health Month Directory of Free and Low-Cost Health Care (not only for men) www.menshealthmonth.org/freehealthcare/index.html

Medicare Rights Center www.medicarerights.org

Mental Health Treatment Facility Locator http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/

National Association of Free & Charitable Clinics http://www.nafcclinics.org/clinics/search

National Cancer Institute: Organizations That Provide Support Services http://supportorgs.cancer.gov/home.aspx?js=1

Needymeds (directories of programs that help with medication costs, co-pays, health insurance, free screenings, transportation, prescription discount cards, and more) www.needymeds.org

New Eyes for the Needy www.new-eyes.org

Patient Advocate Foundation (insurance appeals information) www.patientadvocate.org

Vision USA (American Optometric Association Foundation; free eye exams) www.optometryscharity.org/vision-usa  

Fitness

American College of Sports Medicine www.acsm.org/access-public-information/search-by-topic

Calculators (Body Mass Index, calorie needs, target heart rate; American Cancer Society) www.cancer.org/healthy/toolsandcalculators/calculators/index

Exercise and Physical Fitness (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/exerciseandphysicalfitness.html

Fitness for less: Low-cost ways to shape up (Mayo Clinic) www.mayoclinic.org/fitness/ART-20047989?p=1

Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) http://health.gov/paguidelines/guidelines/default.aspx

SuperTracker (U.S. Department of Agriculture) www.supertracker.usda.gov  

Smoking

American Cancer Society Guide to Quitting Smoking at www.cancer.org/healthy/stayawayfromtobacco/guidetoquittingsmoking/index

American Lung Association Freedom from Smoking www.lung.org/stop-smoking/join-freedom-from-smoking 800-LUNG-USA (800-586-4872)

American Society of Clinical Hypnosis http://www.asch.net

Free state quitlines 800-QUIT-NOW (800-784-8669) Keep Quit! A Motivational Guide to a Life Without Smoking

Nicotine Anonymous www.nicotine-anonymous.org

SmokeFree.gov www.smokefree.gov (National Cancer Institute and others)

http://smokefree.gov/smokefreetxt

http://women.smokefree.gov

http://teen.smokefree.gov

Smoking & Tobacco Use (CDC) www.cdc.gov/tobacco

Quit Tobacco, Make Everyone Proud www.ucanquit2.org (military)  

Mental Health Information

American Psychological Association / Psychology Help Center www.apa.org/helpcenter/index.aspx

American Psychiatric Association / Finding Help www.psychiatry.org/mental-health/key-topics/finding-help

Depression (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/depression.html

Mental Health (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mentalhealth.html

Mental Health America www.mentalhealthamerica.net

Mental Health Treatment Facility Locator (SAMHSA) http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov/

National Alliance on Mental Illness www.nami.org

National Institute of Mental Health / Health & Education www.nimh.nih.gov/health/index.shtml  

Nondrug Remedies

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/complementaryandalternativemedicine.html

Health Journeys http://www.healthjourneys.com/

Herbs and Supplements (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/herb_All.html

Meditation: An Introduction (National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, NIH) http://nccam.nih.gov/health/meditation/overview.htm  

Body Art Removal

Piercing and Tattoos (MedlinePlus) www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/piercingandtattoos.html

Unwanted Tattoos (American Society for Dermatologic Surgery) www.asds.net/TattooRemovalInformation.aspx  

The Recovery Book