Addiction Treatment Resources

About Treatment

Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities www.carf.org/home

How to Find Quality Addiction Treatment (CASAColumbia)  www.casacolumbia.org/addiction-treatment/patient-guide

National Drug Abuse Treatment Clinical Trials Network (NIDA) www.drugabuse.gov/about-nida/organization/cctn/ctn

Principles of Drug Addiction Treatment: A Research Based Guide (NIDA) www.drugabuse.gov/publications/principles-drug-addiction-treatment  

Seeking Drug Abuse Treatment: Know What to Ask (NIDA) www.drugabuse.gov/publications/seeking-drug-abuse-treatment

The Joint Commission www.jointcommission.org  

Find Addiction Professionals

American Psychological Association http://locator.apa.org

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology https://application.abpn.com/verifycert/verifycert.asp

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry http://www.aaap.org/patient-resources/find-a-specialist/

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry www.aacap.org/AACAP/Families_and_Youth/Resources/CAP_Finder.aspx

American Board of Addiction Medicine www.abam.net/find-a-doctor

American Society of Addiction Medicine http://community.asam.org/search

Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network’s Certification Information (state licensing agencies) www.attcnetwork.org/find/certinfo/index.asp

International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (U.S. and international credentialing agencies) http://internationalcredentialing.org/memberboards

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals http://www.naadac.org/sap-directory

National Board for Certified Counselors www.nbcc.org/CounselorFind

National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers www.naatp.org

SAMHSA Buprenorphine Treatment Physician Locator http://www.samhsa.gov/medication-assisted-treatment/physician-program-data/treatment-physician-locator

Find Treatment Programs

About.com state-by-state list of Alcohol and Drug Treatment and Rehab Centers  http://alcoholism.about.com/od/pro/Alcohol_and_Drug_Treatment_and_Rehab_Centers.htm

Behavioral Health Treatment Services Locator (SAMHSA) http://findtreatment.samhsa.gov

Treatment Referral Helpline (SAMHSA) 800-662-HELP (4357) or 800-487-4889 (TYY)  

Treatment Confidentiality

Patient Notice of Confidentiality Laws (Willingway) www.willingway.com/privacy

Health Information Privacy (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services) www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/understanding/consumers/index.html

HIPAA Basics (Privacy Rights Clearinghouse) https://www.privacyrights.org/content/health-privacy-hipaa-basics

Introduction to Health and Medical InformationPrivacy (Privacy Rights Clearinghouse) https://www.privacyrights.org/content/introduction-health-and-medical-information-privacy

Medical Information Bureau www.mib.com  

Paying for Treatment

Disabled American Veterans (help with benefits, transportation, etc.) www.dav.org

Family and Medical Leave Act www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/#.UM92LHewWSo

Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans (IRS)  www.irs.gov/publications/p969/index.html

Medicaid www.medicaid.gov

Medicare Rights Center www.medicarerights.org

Medical and Dental Expenses (IRS) http://www.irs.gov/publications/p502/

Veterans Benefits www.va.gov/healthbenefits 1-877-222-8387

American Healthcare Lending www.americanhealthcarelending.com

CareCredit www.carecredit.com  

The Recovery Book